BACK
HOME
Humboldt Museum

The history of the Original Humboldt Telegraph Station is portrayed through a permanent display on the third floor of the Humboldt and District Museum and Gallery. The station was built in 1878 along the historic Carlton Trail, and was instrumental in the development of Western Canada.

 

Visitors can step into a log cabin to catch a glimpse of life in the station that was built by George and Catherine Weldon, who were hired in 1876 by the Canadian Pacific Telegraph Line. George was the lineman and Catherine was the first female operator in western Canada. The first telegraph message was sent from Humboldt on August 25, 1878.

 

During the Resistance, federal troops arrived at the Humboldt telegraph station site under Lt. Colonel George Denison, awaiting orders from General Middleton. Denison noted that Humboldt was the end of the telegraph line, and the station played a very important part in communications during the Resistance. General Middleton sent messages to Humboldt via soldiers on horseback which Denison transmitted to Ottawa. After the battle, the troops left Humboldt on July 9, 1885.
 
The Humboldt and District Museum is open year round Tuesdays to Saturdays from 1 pm until 5 pm. Summer Hours are Tuesdays to Saturdays from 10 am to 5 pm and Sundays from 1 pm to 5 pm.  

 

Visitors can tap out dots and dashes of Morse code on the interactive telegraph computer station. There is also a panoramic mural that depicts the landscape and the role of the telegraph station during the 1885 Resistance at Batoche.

 

Corner of Main Street and 6th Avenue, Humboldt SK.
Ph: (306) 682-5226

© 2017 Trails of 1985
All Rights Reserved
Mobile Analytics